Will Samsung’s next phone be metal like the iPhone?

Will they soon be made of sterner stuff?

(Credit: CNET)

There’s something about the plastic nature of Samsung’s phones that make them slightly less attractive.

To me, that is.

I know that there are millions to whom it doesn’t make a difference. There are even many, no doubt, who believe — in some idiosyncratic way — that plastic says now, rather than, oh, six months ago.

Some of these people are 13 years old.

However, not all of these people work for Samsung. Indeed, the SamMobile blog last week revealed that it had heard whispers from South Korea that some at Samsung believe plastic isn’t quite fantastic.

It appears that the metal sophistication of the iPhone 5 and the recent appearance of the HTC One, with its very pretty all-aluminum nature, have injected additional quandaries into Samsung’s furrowed brows.

This has resulted in strong pulses suggesting that the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 may be metal or perhaps some other substance. But not plastic.

Moreover, there apparently existed a metal prototype of the Galaxy S4 that had a lot of souls leaping in Seoul. The time difficulties associated with mass producing such metal phones may have influenced the ultimate choice of the S4’s familiar plastic.

Defenders of plastic offer a myriad of practicalities in its design use. But perhaps there is a bigger question: given how successful both the S series and the Galaxy Note have been, has plastic become something of a brand differentiator for Samsung?

More Technically Incorrect

  • Google doodle honors eccentric photographer Norman Parkinson
  • Purported TV-caption slipup pegs Zooey Deschanel as alleged Boston bomber
  • Google activists try to sabotage Google Glass auction
  • Who’s to blame when a driverless car goes astray?
  • Harrison Ford storms out of ‘Kimmel,’ confronted by ‘Star Wars’ characters

Do people truly embrace the plastic nature or is it something they accept that comes along with the joy of large screens and easy sharing of sex tapes?

And what if Apple decided to release its much-rumored cheaper iPhone and it turned out to be plastic? This week, an image of just such a thing slithered into public view.

Would the appearance of an inexpensive iPhone put even more pressure on Samsung to upgrade its materials on more expensive phones?

But if it did, would Apple’s aluminum-hearted lawyers rush to Judge Lucy Koh and sniffle that Samsung was copying Apple again? You know, just for the fun of it.

One can imagine some of the tortured questions plaguing minds at Samsung’s HQ. One can imagine designers staring hard at production and money people and demanding to have their way.

Source: http://news.cnet.com/8301-17852_3-57580631-71/will-samsungs-next-phone-be-metal-like-the-iphone/

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • mira que bonito  On April 23, 2013 at 12:57 am

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i’m satisfied to convey that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I such a lot definitely will make sure to do not overlook this web site and provides it a look regularly.

    • stevedahison  On April 26, 2013 at 11:12 am

      Surf more in this site, definitely you will get more better and relevant thing per your need.

  • Galveston County Methamphetamine Criminal Defense Lawyer  On April 25, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Essential material involving this subject, thanks for posting about it.

  • seksfilm  On April 25, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    thanks for the info I’ll definitely return

  • cecila.rupp  On April 27, 2013 at 2:46 am

    What’s up colleagues, its enormous piece of writing concerning cultureand fully defined, keep it up all the time.

  • how to make money fast online  On April 28, 2013 at 3:05 am

    It’s not my first time to pay a visit this web page, i am browsing this web site dailly and obtain fastidious data from here all the time.

  • esther.phipps  On April 28, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    My family members all the time say that I am killing my time here at web, however I know I am getting knowledge
    all the time by reading such nice posts.

  • sungclements  On April 29, 2013 at 8:51 am

    Hurrah, that’s what I was exploring for, what a stuff! existing here at this weblog, thanks admin of this website.

  • rickie-snodgrass  On April 29, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    Hey I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake, while
    I was researching on Google for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a fantastic post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I
    have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please
    do keep up the awesome work.

  • thaliaraley  On April 30, 2013 at 6:20 am

    Hi this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually
    code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  • make money online fast  On April 30, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    Hello, its pleasant post on the topic of media print, we all understand media
    is a fantastic source of information.

  • make money at home online  On April 30, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. All the best

  • make easy money online  On May 1, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little
    bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog.
    An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

  • best ways to make money online  On May 8, 2013 at 7:26 am

    I am not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.

    Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this info for
    my mission.

  • martaheadrick  On May 18, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    Hello, for all time i used to check website posts here in
    the early hours in the morning, for the reason that i enjoy
    to learn more and more.

  • harveylapointe  On May 20, 2013 at 2:26 am

    Since the admin of this web page is working, no doubt
    very soon it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.

Leave a Reply

